Abaratian Royalty

So in the midst of creating the articles and summaries that I thought needed to be done immediately, I forgot that one of the things I also wanted to focus on was cleaning the articles. I have done this but I haven’t made it clear which ones. Tonight I am writing this post to talk about the articles I have recently edited, why I chose the way I edited them, and talking about the royal families of the Abarat.

We start with the Princess Boa. From her first mention in the series, in Gallows Forest by a soul-searching Christopher Carrion, we’re introduced to a character who was well-loved. Carrion, a man whose grandmother actually sewed his lips together because he said the word love, fully admits to himself that he loved her. He wanted to marry her because she was a daughter of the King of Day and he was the Lord of Midnight. Their union would bring peace. But Boa had doubts about it all even though her father and brother Prince Quiffin were all for the marriage and its potential for daylight and nighttime alliances. Carrion believed it would actually lead to an Age of Everlasting Love, as he remembers writing in one of the letters he sent when courting her. The Fantomaya believed her soul was important to the future of the Abarat. I don’t want to give it away too much, but her soul still is important. Hehe.

So Princess Boa is presented to us as what TVTropes calls the Princess Classic. I would like to once again stress that when I mention TVTropes I don’t mean to criticize the story, as it is one my absolute favorites, but Tropes are in literally everything. They can be cliche at times but everything has them. And also, we find out later that Boa’s character is more, for lack of better word, complex than the initial praising we hear of her.

I edited her article to make it easier to read. It introduces her as a character. It has an Appearance and Character section where I discuss her back story, personality/other traits, and her looks, though that last one is a little slim on details. I’ve based this format on A Wiki of Ice and Fire’s format for characters. I also did this to prevent spoilers from being seen so easily. There used to be an Overview section and below that an In The Books section with three smaller places for her role in each book. But none of the Roles were filled out, and the Overview had information from all three books in it, some quite spoilerific. If no one claims that word soon I declare it mine. So I got rid of all those and just moved around the information. Get ready for the spoilers now. Don’t say I didn’t warn you. Stop reading now if you are in book one and don’t want to know.

Boa’s soul after she died was attached to Candy’s soul. It’s heavily suggested in book one with various hints, but nothing is actually said about it. Its confirmed at the end of book two, which if you’re a fan like me left you feeling like Boa finally speaking to Candy was such a great scene and suggested good things to come. Couldn’t be more wrong. I don’t want to outright say it, but Boa is less like the paragon of innocent Princesses and more like this. I love you, TVTropes.

So next, we have King Claus of Day and Finnegan Hobb the Bridegroom. King Claus is Boa’s father. After her death, Claus became a compulsive eater in his grief and some say he weighs over 1000 pounds. He lives, eats, and travels in a large car. TVTropes classifies him as Adipose Rex, a common trope that involves a king that is obese. The only things that connect him is the fact that he is a king and he is obese. We don’t know his other personality traits because he’s not made an appearance yet, so his personality doesn’t fit the traditional jolly fat king who parties all the time. That’s the fun of tropes, but I digress. Then again, that’s about it for King Claus. Good king of daylight, daughter died, he was sad about it and (quite understandably I’d say) ate a lot in mourning.

Lastly, we have Finnegan Hobb. He is the Bridegroom of Princess Boa, formerly at least. Ever since she was slain, he has had a vendetta against dragons, or worms as they’re called, because these dragons are not noble enough to take on the title dragon. He spends the sixteen years after Boa’s death hunting down and killing worms. This had been compared to the character of Prince Rillian of The Chronicles of Narnia who goes on a quest to kill the green serpent who kills his mother but goes missing for years. Not a plagiarism or rip-off in my mind because Finnegan wasn’t kidnapped. More of a homage, and I love homages. Natalie Goldberg in her book Writing Down The Bones says the it’s arrogant for a writer to think their writing is original and we are all influenced by what we read. If Finnegan is meant as a homage to Rillian that is nothing out of the ordinary for writers to do. I’ve actually started to read the books with a more lurking eye because I do believe he makes some homages to other works at times. I’ll try to make a post about this later, but for now I’ll just say that Kaspar Wolfswinkel is an interesting version of a Mad Hatter.

Finnegan is eventually found by the crew of the sunken Belbelo on the Nonce, the island at three o’clock in the afternoon. He is in the midst of a dragon battle. I know I’ve praised TVTropes a lot in this and other posts, but here is a place where I think they are quite wrong. They qualify Finnegan’s vendetta against worms as the “Love Makes You Evil” trope, statingĀ Finnegan Hob’s love for Princess Boa causes him to commit mass genocide against all dragons when a single dragon kills Boa. Genocide it may be, but I fail to understand why that’s considered evil in this story’s context. The worms here, while able to speak and even have a royal seat, the Scaly Throne, and the concept of heirs, are nothing but evil. Every instance we see them they are needlessly killing and trying to eat relatively peaceful creatures. They especially love eating children. In George R.R. Martin’s A Song of Ice and Fire, a character named Melisandre says “If half an onion is black with rot, it is a rotten onion. A man is good or he is evil.” While certainly up for debate, especially in that series’ world with so many blurred lines of morality, the message speaks volumes I think. There is good, and there is evil. Daylight in the Abarat is usually considered good whereas Nighttime is evil. There are exceptions but early on in the series we are told there is perfect evil and perfect good in Abarat. Just refer back to this posts’ opening line, the opening line of the series. So I don’t consider Finnegan’s vendetta against the worms evil. The worms are evil.

That’s all I have tonight

Leave a Reply

